Nestled under beautiful shade trees at the bottom of the hill in east Tallahassee, two blocks from the Leon County Courthouse and three from the state capitol of Florida is the only historic African American house in Tallahassee that is open to the public for viewing. Constructed in 1890, it was the home of John Gilmore Riley, a distinguished educator, astute businessman, and highly respected civic and religious leader. Born into slavery in 1857 in Leon County, Riley’s phenomenal rise is a lesson in resilience, perseverance and sheer determination. John Riley lived in the house with his family until his death in 1954. The house is now the location of a museum with ongoing arts and cultural programs including exhibitions and a collection of original historical publications.
Hours: M-Th 10 am to 4 pm, F-Sa 10 am to 2 pm
419 E. Jefferson Street, Tallahassee, FL